Skip to content

Who We Are

Our Mission

Visit Shawnee is a division of the Shawnee Chamber of Commerce and serves as the official Destination Marketing Organization for the City of Shawnee. It hosts a hospitality and information tent at all the major events and celebrations held throughout the year and works routinely with regional sports tournaments happening in Shawnee, Kansas.

Its website serves as the primary resource for visitor information and requests generated through it as a point of fulfillment for relocation and visitor resources. It also produces an annual Visitor's Guide and Shawnee Map in partnership with publisher Sunflower Magazine.

Additionally Visit Shawnee celebrates its local tourism leaders and service members. Each year it awards two Visit Shawnee Tourism Awards, the Shawnee Friendly Service Award and the Good Starts Here Award, for exemplary acts of local tourism and hospitality.

Visit Shawnee places a high emphasis on partnerships and co-op marketing efforts with both state and regional tourism agencies and alliances to meet objectives.


The Visit Shawnee staff is ready and able to assist your visitor information requests, sports tournament planning needs, and more! Kevin Fern leads Visit Shawnee as its Executive Director and serves as the primary point of contact. As a division of the Shawnee Chamber of Commerce, Visit Shawnee does utilize the Chambers staff for varying needs and Ann Smith-Tate and Dustin Wolfe also serve as secondary contacts.

Kevin Fern

Executive Director

Ann Smith-Tate

President | CEO

Dustin Wolfe

Director of Marketing & Events


Advisory Committee

The Visit Shawnee Advisory Committee is composed of representatives from hospitality-related businesses, city government, and attractions to promote tourism of the Shawnee area. This includes Shawnee’s hotels, attractions, restaurants, and related businesses, to make a positive economic impact in the community. Appointments to the Visit Shawnee Advisory Committee come as recommendations from the Visit Shawnee Advisory Committee for appointment by the Mayor of Shawnee and approval by the Governing Body.

Visit Shawnee holds its Q2 2021 Advisory Committee meeting at the newly renovated Aztec Theater.
Visit Shawnee holds its Q2 2021 Advisory Committee meeting at the newly renovated Aztec Theater.

Advisory Committee Members

Mickey Sandifer - Chair

Kevin Bundy- Vice Chair
Courtyard by Marriott

Parker Amos - Board Chair
Amos Family Funeral Home & Crematory

Brett Anderson
Hampton Inn

Stacey Bienhoff
Old Shawnee Days Society

Jill Chalfie
Shawnee City Council

Matt Coble
Nick & Jakes



Michelle Distler
Shawnee Mayor

Kevin Fern
Executive Director, Visit Shawnee

Mark Hembrey
Hereford House Shawnee

Neil Holman
Shawnee Parks & Recreation

Lisa Larson-Bunnell
Shawnee City Council

Jason Lieb
Transport Brewery

Dave MacKay
Shawnee Mission Beach Volleyball


Jim Neighbor

Cary Danielson Pandzik
Music Theatre Kansas City

Ann Smith-Tate
President | CEO, Shawnee Chamber of Commerce

Neal Sawyer
Rebuilding Together Shawnee

Jeff Stewart
Johnson County Parks & Recreation

Nolan Sunderman
Shawnee City Manager


Scroll To Top