Skip to content

Tourism Awards

Each year Visit Shawnee's staff and executive committee nominate and give out two awards to members of the local tourism and hospitality industry. These awards are then announced at Visit Shawnee's annual Tourism Luncheon that traditionally is held in May.

2023 Kevin Fern Legacy Award Winner: Mid-America Sports Complex and JCPRD

2023 Shawnee Outstanding Service Award: Drastic Measures

Tourism Awards Photo

Previous Honorees:

2022 - Dave MacKay, Shawnee Mission Beach Volleyball

2021 - Neal Sawyer, Rebuilding Together Shawnee

2020 - Will Walker, Old Shawnee Pizza

2019 - Tonya Lecuru, Shawnee Parks & Recreation

2018 - JoLynn Brosnan, Courtyard by Marriott

2017 - Mark Hembrey, Hereford House Shawnee

2016 - Neil Holman, Shawnee Parks & Recreation

2015 - Randy Bull, Hampton Inn Shawnee

2014 - Jeff Meyers, Shawnee Mayor

2013 - Ron Deffenbaugh, Deffenbaugh Foundation

2012 - Wheels & Dreams Car, Truck & Bike Show, Shawnee Downtown Business Association

2011 - Donna Sawyer, Old Shawnee Days

2010 - Charley Vogt, Country Club Bank

2009 - Jack Waters, Parkway Real Estate

Shawnee Friendly Service Award

This award is presented annually to a hospitality employee who is known for his or her exemplary customer service embodying the Shawnee spirit.

Previous Honorees:

2022 - Evan Cummings, Transport Brewery

2021 - Royal Krueger, Shawnee Town 1929

2020 - Amber Yonts, Courtyard by Marriott Shawnee

2019 - Mary Beatty, Hereford House Shawnee

Scroll To Top